Cleaning negected aluminum wheels - suggestions?

wgasa84

Reaction score
Hey all i hope this is the right place to ask this question. I've searched for about a week before posting this...

What cleaner should I use to clean the barrels?

I've tried Sonax Full Effect, Iron-x, Eagle One PVD & Aluminum Cleaner, and Simple Green Extreme @ 1:1 all with heavy agitation with a very stiff brissle brush. The only thing that touched the contamination (that made a big visible difference after I dryed the area) was the Simple Green Extreme. I also used two aluminum polishes with a microfiber pad and it helped to some degree but it still didn't get the barrels as clean as i got the face of the wheel. I thought I had pictures of the barrels but I must have been so frustrated I didn't take them...I'm about to say screw it and not worry about more than cleaning them off and not getting them shinny...

Backstory: I'm a hobbyist who's just figured things out as I go... started by hand and then moved to a DA Harbor Freight polisher (pretty happy with it) a few years ago.

We picked up at horse trailer that is in overall great shape for 15 years old. The bare aluminum wheels and tread plate had seem some better days. I got the face of passenger side wheels and the passenger side fender polished up nicely. I'll attack the rest over the next few weekends, then a full detail on the paint.

Thanks!
e47c83be721ad589c934eddf82638616.jpg
5172ea2555ff76f301973fdf5d1b042b.jpg
e245cfdb1c0ea4784118e4c43b02c0c4.jpg
e7b491926bca2c6dde86270dd01eb852.jpg
b53fc120f5289ba92c7bd2207cd0b8fb.jpg
9f686962c77cf7e33b24d0ab65467e92.jpg
181644a26f3bd6898b4926d44f6f37ce.jpg
b92a9d6d8c8329fb079a7104a5e6a41d.jpg
26708153441f7a592a1921691dfbcaff.jpg
654265420cd241e0b063e02bafaaaacb.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

I forgot to mention, the barrels are not smooth... the wheels have very little groves. They almost look like the wheels were cut on a lathe.

The trailer looks great.