PDA

View Full Version : Polishing pads...how clean is clean enough??

jmeyers278
11-21-2017, 11:17 PM
Okay so I am relatively new to polishing with a da. I always used a rotary and would buff/compound/polish a whole car with a cutting wool pad and finish the whole car with a different finishing pad and that was it. With a da, I now have piles of pads and it takes several of each to do a vehicle so I am cleaning a lot more pads

Today I did a travel trailer with hd speed and white thin pros. Now they are stained from the speed, which I hear is normal, but I couldn’t get them completely clean

I soaked them for 15mins in McKee’s polishing pad stuff and worked them by hand before rinsing them.

Questions

1. Do these look clean enough?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171122/e2d8ea63e89ff2c17abd69e28ddadd00.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171122/0c96582b89af7b0e9316defe90d51b28.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171122/4f6e8596fb55051a6bcc98d634eb60f9.jpg

2. If not, what else should I do?

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jconley30
11-21-2017, 11:49 PM
You're fine, HD Speed is known to stain pads. As long as you cleaned them and rinsed them out you're good to go.

jmeyers278
11-21-2017, 11:51 PM
You're fine, HD Speed is known to stain pads. As long as you cleaned them and rinsed them out you're good to go.
kinda what I thought. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Cruzscarwash
11-22-2017, 10:20 AM