Newbie Question

drei4runner

Reaction score
Hello there. New to the forum and new to car detailing. The only experience I have in detailing a car is washing it and doing the old school method of using a compound and then waxing everything afterwards by hand which was taught to me by my dad many moons ago. Sad to say it’s been years since I’ve actually polished and waxed a vehicle. I usually just take it to a car wash place every once in a blue moon to get it clay barred and waxed. I have no experience with either a rotary or DA machine.

So now that my brief history with car detailing has been explained my question is this, my 4Runner’s clear coat is cracking in certain places on the roof and a small section of the roof’s clear coat has started peeling. See pictures

365f80771b4a347d5c47007657799fcb.jpg

f4771d28e2e7e1fdb5e96d15945c4a2e.jpg

23f1828a548023971699d73338953766.jpg

fa45e71dc79a30d309e8e56299043c0a.jpg

My question is, how would I go about fixing the clear coat? My worry is that if I use a DA polisher on the peeling clear coat, it might make it worse by making the clear coat peel even more. Or am I just worrying too much? As far as getting the vehicle repainted, that’s out of the question as this my daily driver and I can’t afford to not have a vehicle.

Also can you suggest of a good brand of polish and wax that won’t break my bank? And also what do you folks think of the GoPlus Hyet DA polisher sold on Amazon? I’m not trying to break my bank as this is more geared towards a necessity and not as a business venture.

Thanks for all your help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

First... Welcome. Second cant really fix without repainting. One can slow it down. Sealant. Wax. Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant. Dodo Juice waxes I like. Lots of good stuff on Autogeek. Key is to keep it on there. As in after so long one needs to reapply.