PDA

View Full Version : What is your swirl mark tolerance level?

Pages : [1] 2

CleanIT
09-02-2021, 08:30 PM
I recently applied Opti-Seal using a foam applicator pad using a circular motion to dry paint. It was a bit grabby going on, but required no buffing. Simple. Looked great. I washed my car tonight and noticed some faint swirl marks on hood. The kind you need to see under good light at certain angles.

I have little experience polishing other than using P21s by hand, which worked pretty well in the past. In a situation like this, do you polish or let it go? I know at some point swirl marks seem almost inevitable.

Bruno Soares
09-02-2021, 08:36 PM
If you have more opti seal I would try polishing to fix the swirls and apply again, maybe using different technique if the swirls are coming from applying the sealant.

Klasse Act
09-02-2021, 08:37 PM
Just polish it by hand and it will leave you mind and you'll be better for it[emoji6]

Don't be afraid of the machineshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210903/d81ae9e959ba7d86d127b8107dc33cd3.jpg

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

CleanIT
09-02-2021, 08:38 PM
Thanks, I think I'll polish it by hand and reseal. I do have a polisher I could use if need be.

glen e
09-02-2021, 08:38 PM
Yeah used to bother me , I spent hours trying to get rid of it, now I’m over 65 and I don’t give a crap… If I can only see it in one angle of light, I don’t look at that angle anymore… Lol

CleanIT
09-02-2021, 08:41 PM
Yeah used to bother me , I spent hours trying to get rid of it, now I’m over 65 and I don’t give a crap… If I can only see it in one angle of light, I don’t look at that angle anymore… Lol

hahaha I hear you. I wish I didn't care....one day lol

CleanIT
09-02-2021, 08:42 PM
They recommend foam bc it absorbs less product than the typical micro fiber applicator pad, which I'm sure everyone on AG knows. I wasn't aware of that. I used the foam but may try a microfiber next time.

Klasse Act
09-02-2021, 09:25 PM