help with using a new a buffer on a black altima

jamores23

Reaction score
I just got a dewalt high speed buffer with 3 pads one is black one is white and the other is a wool pad. Now, I have a friend that has a black altima that is a total mess with fine scratches on the clear coat that looks like a spider did some webbing to his car. Can anyone tell me what I would need, why, and the process step by step please! How much would you guys charge for scratch removal or swirl mark removal on a black altima that has it all over the car. Please help me i am new to this

My best advice is do some reading.

Those pads that probably came with the machine are probably not proper, and i would invest in some DD Pads or some LCC Pads from here. Get a few different polishes from course to fine, or maybe even a product like Menzerna Power Finish, which is a one step product

It wont remove all the imperfections, but a good amount

IF this is ur first correction with a rotary, i would not suggest starting a black car that the customer appreciates...you'll need some practice first, and a array of products to achieve results

why stay away from the wool pad? I know it has to been extremely clean. I dont know what polishes to get. How do i determine what polish to use? does a polish remove swirl marks and fine scratches?

First off, you're getting WAY ahead of yourself. You need several hours of practice before even thinking of polishing your buddies car, especially if he cares about it. Its extremely easy to cause permanent damage with a rotary.

Second, this is an extremely loaded question. You can't expect people to give you all the answers. You gotta at least do some research, than ask questions about what you don't understand. You'll get a lot more responses that way.

why stay away from the wool pad? I know it has to been extremely clean. I dont know what polishes to get. How do i determine what polish to use? does a polish remove swirl marks and fine scratches?