Question Collinite 845

Lonewolf2007

Reaction score
I am new to detailing and need advice on collinite 845.
Do I need to do anything specail to prep before I apply the 845?

Can I just do a normal wash and apply it?

Thanks for your advice I have never used this product before.

Welcome to the forums! :)

I have not used #845 but I have used #885. To answer your question, yes, you could just do a normal wash, dry, then apply. If your car's paint needs more care, you might want to consider using a clay-bar to remove paint contaminants from the surface. (The more experienced detailers will have more good advice too, so be ready! :) )

More detailing info here...
Auto Detailing Facts, auto detailing Tips, How to detailing Guides, how to polish, how to wax, DIY detailing, do it yourself guides

LoneWolf, 845 is just like any typical wax: optimally you want to apply it to a prepped surface. If you have never cleaned your paint, you might want to consider doing two things (in this order):

1) Clay

2) Apply a paint cleaner (e.g., Meguiar's Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner [inexpensive] or P21S Paintwork Cleanser [more expensive]).

Or instead of a paint cleaner, you could apply a cleaner wax/sealant (e.g., Meguiar's ColorX or Klasse AlO).

You would then apply one or two coats of 845. Collinite 845 is a great product--easy to apply and remove and provides excellent durability.

Cheers,
Al

It's a great wax for the money. I have 2 coats of 845, 2 coats of Meg 26, and 1 coat of Fuzion on my truck. Looks great for white. Like the guys said, clay and a cleaner will make a better base for the 845. You should get 6 months of protection, if you can go that long without waxing.

My question is almost the same, except I plan to use other products...

I plan to clay....do the wolfgang Swirl then Glaze with PC. Can I go straight to the Fuzion? I can seal with Z2 or put P21s paint enhancer.

How many layers with Fuzion?