PDA

View Full Version : Not Getting the Paint To " Pop"

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

jpegs13
12-09-2009, 09:49 PM
I'm new at this. Not a professional, just a car guy. I've been "lurking", reading, jotting down notes and I just can't seem to get it right. HELP!
I just can't seem to get the depth and wet look shine that I've seen from you guys and gals. I can get the swirls out and most of the scratches. I'm too chicken right now to try wet sanding, so I'll live with some of the scratches.

Ok let me tell you the products I've been using on my '09 Black Escalade.

DP Xtreme Foam Auto Shampoo
Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay
Griots ROP
Pinnacle Advanced Swirl Remover w/ LC Orange Pad
Pinnacle Advanced Finishing Polish w/ LC White Pad
Every Wax known to man has been tried.

The car shines, but it seems to have a haze. It just doesn't have that "wow factor" What am I doing wrong? I've tried taking pictures but they don't seem to capture what I'm trying to explain.
:surrender:

agpatel
12-09-2009, 09:58 PM
Few questions:

1. Is this haze look after or before you apply the wax?
2. Are you sure you are working the polishes all the way till they look almost transparent oily film look?
3. Is the pad caking up on you or anything?

jpegs13
12-09-2009, 10:16 PM
Few questions:

1. Is this haze look after or before you apply the wax?
2. Are you sure you are working the polishes all the way till they look almost transparent oily film look?
3. Is the pad caking up on you or anything?

1: yes the haze is prior to wax
2: I think so
3: The pad seems fine. No caking

jpegs13
12-09-2009, 10:19 PM
I really want to get this right. I have the '07 LP640 shown in my avitar and I want to do it right. I don't trust my "baby" with just anybody.

agpatel
12-09-2009, 10:54 PM
1: yes the haze is prior to wax
2: I think so
3: The pad seems fine. No caking

First off, GREAT CAR!, :props:.