PCXP vs Griots 6"

Kris R

360Detail.com
Reaction score
I've been reading thread after thread and going back and forth between the NEW PCXP and the Griots.

Im not too concerned about the waranty because we all know what an absolute pain it is to get anything fixed after 90 days.

So heres what I like about the Griots: I like the bail handle and I like the power rating. thats it.

I have an old PC so I know what Im getting. I love the new design to it. I have a rotary so Im not too concerned about forcing either machine to try and buff out a hard scratch. I have enough pad and polish variety to tackle anything.

So which one do I choose and why?

Thanks. :xyxthumbs:

I bought the PCXP but never had the opportunity to try the GG, Flex or new Meguires. In hindsight, between the PCXP and GG, it probably doesn't matter in the scheme of things.

While I'm not an expert, I think that you must chose pads and chemicals based on the DA/Polisher that you chose. More power means less aggressive abrasives and pads, however you remove the same amount of paint either way. You will probably use a 2-step process to remove swirls and polish so power may be moot. Power requirements may also be related to the paint that you are correcting, so you will need to learn what product to use with different paints. As my wife keeps telling me, don't get caught up in the minutia (I should listen to her more).

I need to pass to Mike Phillips or someone more experienced than me regarding how aggressive you need to go with the first step (pads and compound/polish) however I'm pretty happy with the PCXP with the hard clearcoat of an older BMW.

Good luck.