PDA

View Full Version : I failed my first time polishing and waxing

Pages : [1] 2

Bigmivi
09-06-2011, 01:34 AM
Hi All,

This is my first time posting and first time I tried to work on my mom's 1999 pathfinder. I used the following products and it is in order:

1. Two bucket washing method.
2. Turtle's bug and tar removal.
3. Meguiar's ULTIMATE COMPOUND
4. Mothers FX Synwax
5. Meguair's gold class wax

The outcome is unacceptable. Please find the picture attached. It seems there are still a lot of spots on the car. What can I do to fix it!? Am I using the right product?

Many thanks in advance~ I really want the car to shine~

tuscarora dave
09-06-2011, 05:02 AM
Did you do it by hand or by machine? It kind of looks like there is a rotary hologram left behind but also looks like a bit of paint transfer left as well. The spots look to me like stone chips which will need to be filled with something like Dr.Color Chip.

BobbyG
09-06-2011, 06:41 AM
Many thanks in advance~ I really want the car to shine~[/QUOTE]

Dave touched on an important point; are you working by hand or using a machine?

Some of the defects look deeper than swirls and marring. These may require a more aggressive approach and possibly some wet sanding but try a less aggressive approach first.

Mike Phillips did a nice article on the art of wet sanding...

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/wet-sanding-cutting-buffing/21974-basic-hand-sanding-techniques.html

Compounding and polishing by hand is difficult at best and requires allot of arm and shoulder strength as well as a ton of time.

Meguiar's Ultimate Compound works pretty well for an over the counter product but it may not be aggressive enough.

A dual action polisher, the appropriate foam pads will yield better results much much quicker and give consistency to the process. Other compounds might also help.

courtdale
09-06-2011, 06:52 AM