Cleaning inside the wheel, how do I.....

Mazda.Mark

Reaction score
get tar pieces (chunks) off and clean in the wheel. I have a Daytona Speedmaster brush but I feel the bristles are not hard enough to do the job. My hands have cuts everywhere from reaching in and picking some off.

I have Meg WB and APC+ and Purple Power. I let WB at 10:1 set for a couple minutes to loosen, my brush was in a bucket of diluted apc to clean but some just will not come off. Also the ones I do clip off the remnants on the wheel will not come clean.

Any tools, technique I could use? I tried 0000 steel wool, but afraid to really scrub with it.

PS Taking off wheels not an option for me, I am not that comfortable doing that yet.

I know its small but it really bugs me.

Its a Mazda6 daily driver with factory 17" alloys. Feed back please:dblthumb2:

If you have tar inside there it's probably best to actually take the wheels off to clean the inside. If it's just brake dust you can use your Daytona brush with something like Sonax and just brush through your wheel spokes, although the ease of doing this may depend on how much space is in between your spokes and whatnot.

I have black tar crap all inside my wheels from when I got my car rust-proofed for the wonderful winter salt in upstate NY. Still need to see if I can clean that up when I put my winter wheels/tires on.

As for what product to use for the tar you may want to try Stoner Tarminator.

As has been noted, the best way really is going to be to take the wheels off. If you have a real layer of paint on the barrel (not all wheels do), once you get it clean, polished and sealed it should be much easier to maintain.

Please be careful sticking your hands in there if you have WB on the wheel, especially if you already have cuts on your hands. You really don't want WB on your bare skin.

I do not know how everyone else feels on this matter but a wheel removal is going to be your best option to clean these.