PDA

View Full Version : stick shift vs. paddle shifters

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

VISITOR
12-02-2011, 03:50 PM
which do you like better and why? discuss...

rider9195
12-02-2011, 03:56 PM
I am a fairly new driver. Started driving in September. I really wanted to learn how to drive stick and ended up getting a stick car. I find it so much more fun to drive stick than an automatic. I can see where somebody would prefer a auto car with paddle shifters though. If you are in stop and go traffic and so on.

I will drive stick over any other type of transmission any day.

Edit: Some manual transmissions are less expensive than some of the new automatic transmissions, I think.

Cool Runnings
12-02-2011, 04:08 PM
I would have to go paddle shifters.
-dual clutch automatics are faster than a traditional manual.
-never miss a shift
-many paddle shifter cars automatically "blip" for a perfect shift
-never take your hands of the wheel

And finally F1 cars use paddle shifters.

JBL
12-02-2011, 04:17 PM
I've always driven AT. At 45,000 miles a year, it seems like it makes more sense to me. My inner car guy loathes the fact though. Even so--and even with the mechanical knowledge of what's physically happening in there--I'm not too proficient with a stick. My only real issues are leaving out of 1st and hunting for shift points.

The last time I tried it was in a crapcan race and I stalled out in the paddocks in front of everyone. :doh:

I'd love to become more proficient with a stick shift, but I have nothing against the paddle shifters today either (or "manual" automatics even). If I had to choose though, I'd go with stickshift all day long.

Where's sequential fit into this? WRC makes it look like so much fun!

erock
12-02-2011, 04:30 PM