PDA

View Full Version : Protection plan for new Scion FR-S

vsquaredbyrho
07-02-2012, 07:30 PM
I'm asking for feedback on my plan to protect a new silver Scion FR-S. Details that might influence your thoughts:
- I have a enclosed garage to park in at night and to work in (but it's not heated or cooled). I have a short commute of about 10-15 miles per day, but it snows in the winter and the roads are salted/sanded somewhat regularly.
- I'm not looking for show-car-shine. I just want it to be protected from every day dirt, rain spots, etc. This is my daily driver. I plan to keep the car for a very long time and want it to look nice years down the road.
- Ease of application is key for me. Products that can be easily applied/removed and don't take special techniques and tips/tricks are ideal. I've two-bucket-washed, clayed, and waxed cars before, but I'm still learning. I've used Zymol cleaner wax before and find it all but impossible to keep off my trim. I do like the results (and smell) though.

The car will be about two weeks off the delivery truck when I'm ready to put my plan into action:
1) If it looks noticeably dirty, I'll take it to the local do-it-yourself car wash for a quick spray of soap and water to remove the worst stuff. Using their own soap from the spray gun.
2) Drive home, park in garage. Allow car to cool down.
3) Use Blackfire Wet Diamond Waterless Wash (http://www.autogeek.net/blackfire-waterless-wash.html) to clean body panels, windows, headlights, and wheels. I expect to use about 4 microfiber towels for this.
4) Apply 303 Aerospace Protectant (http://www.autogeek.net/16oz.html) to tire sidewalls.
5) Use a clean microfiber towel to dust the interior hard surfaces.