PDA

View Full Version : Dusting with D151 Meguiars Paint Reconditiong Creme?

bwatereagleman
10-05-2012, 04:30 PM
Hello all! I am new to the AutoGeek Forums, so please bear with me. I have gained tremendous knowledge and insight by reading what everyone has posted, and it is certainly helping me with a few of the cars that I personally detail as well as to help me guide the guys who we employ. So thanks and everyone keep up the great write-ups ... you all make it sound so easy!

Here is my background. Currently, I represent a small used car dealership (boo hiss) where we detail approximately 30-35 cars a month, so realistically we have employed a production style of paint reconditioning. One of the products in our stable is the Meguiars D151 Paint Reconditioning Creme.

We absolutely enjoy the results and simplicity of the product, but one issue we run up against is the dust it creates. Is this normal? Or are we applying it incorrectly? For further information we are using the Porter Cable DAs with Meguiars 6.5 inch pads. We prime the pads and use 3-4 quarter sized dollops thereafter. We clean our pads rather effectively (I think).

If dusting is the nature of the product, what are some ways you all are effectively handling the dust. I would think that dust would introduce the possibility of further scratches if you towel it off. Am I correct in that?

Also, I don't detail cars regularly but would like to be in the know so I can at least assist our guys, but is there something out on the web or on this forum that is a guide for vehicle paint hardness/softness?

And by the way... just as an informal poll, and chime in if you want, but vertical panels give me trouble. How about you?

Thanks again for your help!

ihaveacamaro
10-05-2012, 06:14 PM