PDA

View Full Version : How long is to long

akj
03-01-2013, 12:19 AM
New in the detailing business I am aware that I must mange actual work time in order to make a profit. I also know each car is different as well as each job that u do to them.
But I'm sure some of u have a general rule of thumb of about how long it should take not only on the whole job but maybe how long each step should take.

I know I'm new at this and I'll prolly get faster with time. But for now I feel like I'm taking an extremely long time.
Today for example I did a full detail on a z71 extremely dirty inside but fair on the outside and except from 1 30 minute lunch and 1 5 min break I spent from 9am to 5pm on it!
So I would like to hear how long some of u spend on simple washes, full details, details and wax, and possibly on just inside, just wheels, just washing, and just waxing.
And if any of u have a sort of rule of thumb like try not to spend X amount of time on just interior, just exterior, or any steps.

Sent from my SCH-L710 using AG Online

Pureshine
03-01-2013, 12:22 AM
I set times for my self after I see the car and make sure I make good money on top of that.

CM8 6MT
03-01-2013, 12:37 AM
I set times for my self after I see the car and make sure I make good money on top of that.

I agree with Pureshine. I like to under promise and over deliver. Remember that usually customers dont mind how long you take on their car as long as its done right. Do whatever its going to take to get the job done.