Best way to get beach/playground sand out of interior carpets?

2BlackChevys

Reaction score
I am working on a TrailBlazer that has a ton of beach or playground sand in the carpets. I have tried blowing it out with my compressor and vacuuming it with my shop vac. Is there a better way to get sand out of carpet?

Im no expert but maybe an extractor will work.

I once bought a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4x4 that was a rental vehicle in Hawaii for 20k miles of it's life.

Oh what fun. I think after a year I took out maybe 2-3 pounds of sand from all areas of the interior. I would just hit the carpet with my hand near the vacuum nozzle.

Bad times. Good Jeep however, was flawless.

I use brushes on my cyclo to bring the sand up out of the rug then use my extractor.

A pet hair brush brings sand and small particulates to the surface.

Rubber Pet Brush

Brush & vac, brush & vac...lather, rinse, repeat. Sand is time consuming and a bit labor intensive but there's no easy way I've found. A wipedown with a damp microfiber towel..you know, the ones that grab everything if you drop 'em on the floor...removes a surprising amount of miniscule grit that you can't even see.

TL

Try a shop vac, but scrub the carpet with folex and then vaccum it out ?

Agitation is the only method that brings sand to the surface. I use my PC with the green bristle carpet attachment brush. If possible pull the carpet up from the end where it's tucked under the pedals and door thresholds and pat the carpet backing. This with the helpbof gravity will get at least half the sand/particles out if the carpet. Extraction helps lift the ultra fine particles by wicking as the carpet drys. Once dry vacuum again and go another round with the extractor if you feel it's necessary. Wiping when dry and blotting the carpet when wet helps pull away some particles close to the surface of the fibers but will do nothing for imbedded sand/particles, IME.