Can I improve the luster of my 2 year-old Honda??

Mynewt

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm rather new at all this. But not totally inexperienced. I just bought a 2011 Honda Odyssey with only 12k miles on it.

Since buying it two weeks ago, I have taken the time to go over it with my PC 7424XP.

I first washed and clay-barred it, then did one thorough pass with BlackFire gloss enchaining polish and then another go-round with Meguiars Ultimate Liquid Wax.

This improved the shine, but the reflection in the paint didn't really get clearer.

Of course, I don't want to go at this with too strong an approach, so I thought I'd ask for the collective wisdom of the group about how(of if) I can get this paint to reflect more clearly.

I'm ready/needing to place an order here with AG and would love specific product advice. Maguires preferable, but not necessarily.

Current photo attached.

Really hard to tell with the picture, the car and the issues are distant. Try a close up picture, give us a better idea of said issue.

Is that the polished metal metallic?

I have personally owned a 2011 Ody in the polished metal metallic at one pt and worked on a Honda Element of the same color not too long ago. This particular color hides scratches and swirls very well and the nature of that color will not reflect like a black color will. However, I know that you will be able to get a great shine out if it. I also did not find the Ody or the Element to have that notorious soft Honda paint. If anything, I would say that it was about a medium.

Really hard to tell with the picture, the car and the issues are distant. Try a close up picture, give us a better idea of said issue.

I wasn't really thinking along the lines of there being an "issue".

I have this shot of the hood to offer. I can take more close-up shots of the van tomorrow morning. (I won't be home 'til after dark tonight).