PDA

View Full Version : Help needed

WFZone
05-31-2006, 09:23 AM
I think that I am going about this detailing stuff in the wrong fashion because I feel like I am piece mealing things together so I need some expert advice.....

1. I have a 98 Honda Acord that is Black with some minor scratches in the paint and swirls. Scratches came along when my 5 yr old decided to help Dad wash the car. Cloth interior.
2. I have a brand new Honda Ridgeline that I am in love with and want to keep it looking great. It is silver with grey leather. (I know Black would have been better but I live in Ohio and I have to work for a living)
3. I also have a BMW motorcycle but I use Plexus on it about twice a week and like what it does for the bike.

Considerations:

1. I am not a detailer by profession but I am interested in the Porter Cable machine to assist me.
2. I bought some of Sovergn wax that was on special.
3. I have some of Zaino products but I am not overly thrilled with the idea of using them.
4. I have never clayed my cars. What do you think of using the claying pad on PC?
4. What products would you recommend? Pads, machine, wash, wax, & in between washes?

What to order????

Thanks for the help.

Mike

Neothin
05-31-2006, 10:13 AM
with the kid and work taking up your time, I'd look for something that gives you some durability.
Klasse All-In-One topped with 2-3 layers of something like DP Premium Surface Shield, or Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant. Buy the spray versions of these products to go with whichever that you buy and use it after your car washes to extend the durability (significantly i might add). I'd use the souveran on the black accord, while the work truck gets the sealant.
You also should think about getting a quick detailer spray. I prefer ClearKote's Quikshine.