Remove Fine Scratches (tree branches mostly) Fairly New Vehicle?

Kenny94

Reaction score
Hi, Guys/Gals

I've tried Mcguires
scratch concealer, 3M and turtle wax scratch concealer. At one point, used my Griot's Garage random orbit attached with an orange pad on 2/3 setting with a quarter size of scratch remover (concealer) on pad with no results. Before this I did all preparation. (See below).

The vehicle is painted white pearl and there's several scratches in the base coat.

My experience. I'm fairly new at detailing. I used to be one of the, I didn't know, that I didn't know, types when I came to detailing cars. Discovering, detailing vehicles is very sophisticated and expensive hobby as well........:D But now I'm hooked and I love it!!

I'm not comfortable to use any kind of sandpaper or acetone without any guidance.

Preparation so far:
used 3M 03900 (with my random orbit and by hand) claying and finished up with carnauba paste wax and then a sealant.

All looked really good until about three weeks ago. Some of the scratches reappeared. I'm not in no big hurry as the car is out of town and she'll be back in three weeks. I would like to have some ideas.

Any advice or tips would be appreciated.

Thank You,
Kenny (Kenny94)

If your finger nail can slide across the scratch and get stuck, you will need another form of correction.

I've tried Mcguires scratch concealer

You mean Meguiar's ScratchX? If so, that's not that agressive. You could step it up to Ultimate Compound or M105.

The vehicle is painted white pearl and there's several scratches in the base coat.

In the base coat or the clear coat? If they're in the base coat, they aint coming out!

used 3M 03900 (with my random orbit and by hand) claying and finished up with carnauba paste wax and then a sealant.

Not in that order I hope? Should be Clay ---> Polish ---> Sealant ---> Wax

If your finger nail can slide across the scratch and get stuck, you will need another form of correction"