Marks left by factory protection wrap

billy miles

Reaction score
Chevy has recently started wrapping their new 2014 trucks before shipping. They cover the hood roof and a few other small areas with a thin plastic wrap. The problem my coworkers and I are having is the marks in the paint that they leave, you can faintly see them in the pictures but they are much worse in person. Gm (general motors) recommend spraying them down with water before removing them to prevent this but it seems to make no difference. Has anyone else had this problem before? These are new vehicles and they should look like it but the marks are pretty stubborn and I don't have the time to cut and buff every new car that comes in.

Sent from my HTC VLE_U

Ironic that that's supposed to protect the vehicles. I sell packaging for a living(23 years), that's called cohesive wrap, it's not supposed to do that. It's supposed to release cleanly and leave no residue. It's hard to say from what I can see if that's actually from the film. Here's why I say that, doesn't look like the film has been damaged or compromised on the outer side. I don't see how water would help at all based upon my knowledge of that product. The cohesive bond is on the side making contact with the vehicles paint and water won't penetrate it and it's not a water soluable product.

I've tried using laquer thinner and a couple kinds of adhesive remover and its still there. its almost as if it leaves wrinkles or stretch marks in the clear coat

Sent from my HTC VLE_U

Sorry I may have been unclear with the water. Its not bieng used to release the adhesive.. more of just to rinse it and cool the wrap down.. I'm not sure how its supposed to work having see no difference when using it

Sent from my HTC VLE_U

It's supposed to just release and not leave any residue or marks. My advice is to get the GM regional guy out there. It shouldn't be creating extra work or additionals costs for a delaership imo.