PDA

View Full Version : is it safe to use an APC on Opti Coated paint?

Pages : [1] 2 3

Rez90
11-20-2013, 01:24 PM
i ask because i had some weird stains on the back of my white car recently...spray detailer didn't do anything. I didn't want to use any type of scrtatch remover because i dont' want to affect my opti coat with anything abrasive so i hit it with a tiny bit of Megs APC+ and the stain wiped right off....

I'd assume this is pretty safe given the car has opti coat 2.0 on it....

thoughts?

Rez90
11-20-2013, 09:32 PM
Bump...

VP Mark
11-20-2013, 09:46 PM
Yep. There is nothing short of a paint levelers at body shops that will remove OC chemically. Naturally when using any APC!, degreaser, bug remover ect. Make sure to rinse it completely.

Your OC is not removable by APC or degreaser, just to be clear.

I'm a pro installer.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AG Online

Pureshine
11-20-2013, 11:07 PM
Yep. There is nothing short of a paint levelers at body shops that will remove OC chemically. Naturally when using any APC!, degreaser, bug remover ect. Make sure to rinse it completely.

Your OC is not removable by APC or degreaser, just to be clear.

I'm a pro installer.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AG Online

:iagree:

ZeroSP
11-20-2013, 11:09 PM
Opti Coat can only be removed via sanding and heavy polishing/compounding. :) So no worry

Andr3wilson
11-20-2013, 11:36 PM
Coatings are quite chemical resistant (broad spectrum). Really dirty car, a dilute APC mix will be a great presoak.

Opti Coat can only be removed via sanding and heavy polishing/compounding. :) So no worry

It's not that durable. As pointed out above, most bodyshop solvent based cleaners remove them

swanicyouth
11-20-2013, 11:50 PM
Only use an APC that is safe for paint on paint - regardless if it has OC on it or not. To think you can use any strong APC to wash your car because it has OC is naive. One that is safe that I use is Sonus All in 1.

Andr3wilson
11-21-2013, 12:49 AM