PDA

View Full Version : OTC Spray clear coat vs Eastwood

Pages : [1] 2

bcgreen
03-16-2014, 01:15 PM
I would like to know if the over the counter clear coat in a spray can is just as good as the more expensive Eastwood Diamond clear gloss bare metal paint aerosol. I know there are many brands of clear coat, some better than others, I am not an expert so maybe someone can recommend a really good one that I can get locally, unless Eastwood's one is that much better.
I am going to spray clear coat the barrels of a set of BBS wheels.

BlackRam
03-16-2014, 02:38 PM
in on this

kochdalton87
03-16-2014, 03:30 PM
I would also like to know a little on this. I'm planning on using a filler primer on my barrels and then painting and clearing them. Currently I have in my possession the Dupli-Color clear (part of their wheel coating system) and was asking myself the same question. Subscribed

davidc
03-16-2014, 03:31 PM
I would like to know if the over the counter clear coat in a spray can is just as good as the more expensive Eastwood Diamond clear gloss bare metal paint aerosol. I know there are many brands of clear coat, some better than others, I am not an expert so maybe someone can recommend a really good one that I can get locally, unless Eastwood's one is that much better.
I am going to spray clear coat the barrels of a set of BBS wheels.

What you want is known as y2k clear. It is a clear with a hardening agent mixed in and will long outlive your everyday clear. Eastwood sells this in a spray can but you need to be ready as once it is mixed you need to use it then throw it away. A local paint supply may be able to provide the same setup. The alternative is to buy the clear and hardener and mix into a spray gun. Same scenario tho, what does not get used is thrown away. 99% of the outcome is the effort before spraying.

Dave

kochdalton87
03-16-2014, 03:53 PM