In need of some guidance

autonoob

Reaction score
Hello,

As my username suggests, I am new to detailing. I apologize in advance I am posting this is the wrong sub forum....I wish to detail a car correctly. My dad recently purchased a new 2014 Honda Accord LX (Silver). I made sure to tell him not to wash the car yet because I didn't wants him or me to screw it up and put swirl marks on it. I watched some "junkman" vidoes on Youtube so I know about the 2 bucket wash and the bare basics. If you could answer the questions below I would appreciate it.

1.) Is my supply list below complete? And do let me know if I am about to purchase a product that doesn't suit my skill level or is a bad product.
- 2 buckets (own)
- 2 grit guards (need to buy)
- Gilmour 75QGFMR Foam Gun (need to buy)
- Chemical Guys Mr. Pink foam liquid (need to buy)
- 2 wash mits (own)
- Simoniz S57 Perfect Finish Detailing Clay Bar (need to buy)
- Meguiar's M7 Mirror Glaze Show Car Glaze - 16 oz. (need to buy)
- Meguiar's M26 Mirror Glaze Hi-Tech Yellow Wax - 16 oz. (need to buy)
- Meguiar's X3070 4" Soft Foam Applicator Pads, (Pack of 2) (need to buy)

2.) I am particularly worried about the Meg's #7. For what I have read on this forum, it is a very oily substance and needs to be applied in very thin layers, in vertical strokes. Is this hard to do? And what I don't understand is how can the Meg's #26 wax be applied on top of the polish if the polish is oily. It doesn't make sense in my mind. It seems to me that the polish and the wax would just gloop together or something.

3.) Is my process below on washing/detailing the exterior correct?
- Rinse car in water
- Clean tires
- Use foam gun on car
-While foam is still on the car use wash mits and 2 bucket system to wash car from top to bottom.
- Rinse off wash, and then clay car while using car wash as a lubricant.
- Maybe rinse it off again
- Polish car
- wax car