PDA

View Full Version : Car show rant

Pages : [1] 2 3

Extreme Radiance
06-15-2014, 08:17 AM
Ok this will sound like sore looser but here it goez. I don't mind getting beat by a better car but I hate getting beat by a lesser car.
Took my C5 Corvette to a show. Cars were judged by the dealership sales staff. Shoulda been a red flag. My car has no swirls and is spotless with after market chrome added . I checked out the other C5's and found them to have swirls and water spots. The owners didnt even bother to wipe them down.
I work hard at keeping my car in pristine condition. Others dont give a crap and still win. WTH.
I am new to the car show circut and quickly learning only legit judged shows are worth the time and effort. I always win at legit judged shows where the judge uses a actual score sheet. But shows judged by non-car ppl with no scoring are a farce and undeserving of my hard work.
And another thing. Car shows ran by the local car club, judged by club members, result in club members winning. Everyone knows how those car shows end.
If anyone here runs a car show, make it legit , otherwise the show has no credibility.

David Hayward
06-15-2014, 08:48 AM
I've been through this many times. It's not worth getting bothered by. Unfortunately small little shows tend to have bad judging. Most of the time they don't have any set in stone system for scoring cars they just look and try to remember which car was their favorite.

silverfox
06-15-2014, 09:03 AM
Local car shows for the most part are sponsored by clubs or local organizations whose members vote for each other. If you're an outsider just go to enjoy the cars and don't expect anything more than that. Its what it is.

hogie
06-15-2014, 09:33 AM
Also a lot of shows don't bother with how spotless your car is. They art there to judge quality of work, modifications, and design.

On top of that most small show judges are inept. Don't worry about it.

hernandez.art13
06-15-2014, 11:36 AM