Griot's G9 ?

nkme2000

Reaction score
I'm brand new to all this detailing stuff. I own 3 black cars and 1 dark grey SUV. I love keeping my vehicles clean and have decided now is the time to attempt to detail them myself. I have purchased a Griot's G9 starter kit. My question and confusion is about whether I have bought too advanced of a machine ... I am reading about the safety feature of some of the other machines when you apply too much pressure they stop the pad rotation. Does the G9 operate in the same manner? Or will the G9 power through too much pressure from an amateur like me?

Thanks for your help.

You are fine.

The G9 is a free-spinning orbital. No worries. :)

The G9 is currently the best machine one can start with. Make sure you have enough pads as most kits don’t include nearly enough of them. High quality towels are a must too.

The G9 is currently the best machine one can start with. Make sure you have enough pads as most kits don’t include nearly enough of them. High quality towels are a must too.

^^This^^

No sense in getting the best entry-level machine, only to find that you do not have enough pads and quality removal towels.

This hobby can seem to be overwhelming at first, but you really need to get the correct supplies and amounts (e.g. pads) to have the best experience for your first go.

Thank you...

Care to make any recommendations?

Ok. Great start!

Without looking through all of the kits, I assume you will get Speed Shine, GG clay, and a MF towel in the clay kit. Great kit.

But only about 3 pads. I would buy at least 6 of the pads for a normal car. It will make your life easier, and keep you from over-working the pads.

As far as MF towels, I really like Cobra, The Rag Company, and a few others. You cannot really go wrong with anything here on AG.

What are your plans as far as liquids (polish/compounds)?

What are your plans as far as liquids (polish/compounds)?