PDA

View Full Version : Carpet and Leather Cleaning Product Recommendations

RRocket
05-09-2010, 09:39 PM
I use Leatherique 1-2 a year for a very thorough cleaning of my leather. But what can you guys recommend in between these major cleanings? I have used Lexol...but I'm not terribly fond of it. Is there anything better that does a good job at cleaning/conditioning without being as extensive as a Leatherique treatment?

And carpets and upholstery? I want something that will get out dirt and stains on light coloured carpets (tan). I will NOT be using a hot water extractor since I don't own one. Besides, I'm not a professional detailer, just a car nut/hobbyist.

Munich77
05-09-2010, 10:02 PM
Folex and a wet/dry vac should work. What is popular too is the Bissell Little Green Machine (it is like less than $100). I have a Eureka model that I bought for like 40 bucks. For floor mats I just use folex and a brush. I wash the mats out and let them air dry,

Jenn1270
05-09-2010, 10:04 PM
I like the 1Z products for my coated leather. There is a nice thread about it.

As for carpet, I just cleaned my husband's badly stained with grease front carpets. I wound up having to use Zep degreaser, but products like Stoners, DP, Folex, and even chem dry make great carpet cleaning products and some are quite inexpensive. Others just use plain on APC+ with a scrub brush, a good spray with the hose, a good vacuum with the wet/dry shop vac and then let finish drying. I know this may be heresy, but the OTC cleaners are much cheaper and more available than stuff you can only get online. Most can be found at the HD or Lowe's

Jenn

Showroom Shine
05-10-2010, 06:21 AM
I have a Aztec Heated Extractor that I don't always use. It's because of the high quality products available. Dp Extractor,Lifter 1,DWG Green, Folex and the various other carpet cleaners.There are numerous products that make the job alot easier.

RRocket
05-10-2010, 07:19 AM