Trouble with 2016 Mustang (Black) paint.

Ruben12

Reaction score
Hey guys! I am completely new to detailing. I just recently purchased a TorqX along with the Chemical Guys Vline polishes and hex pads. I have had a hard time trying to perfect the condition of the paint. I stopped using the orange(most aggressive) hex pad because it was way too firm for the paint. I then went with the white pad and a mild cutting polish. As expected there was marring left over. I then went with a grey pad/finishing polish and the marring was slightly taken away but it was still there and hazy. I am going insane as to what to do next. I don't want to be cutting anymore clear coat off my paint. If anyone can give me some advice that would be great! Thanks!

Unfortunately, it sounds like you have soft paint. It can be very difficult to dial in a perfect finish on soft paint. Even experienced people have problems. Change the speed and pressure. CG polishes aren't that good, IMO.

Hey guys! I am completely new to detailing. I just recently purchased a TorqX along with the Chemical Guys Vline polishes and hex pads. I have had a hard time trying to perfect the condition of the paint. I stopped using the orange(most aggressive) hex pad because it was way too firm for the paint.

Something isn't right here. An orange pad on a black mustang won't mar or leave problems like that. My guess is the pad and product are picking up contaminants from the paint. The more aggressive Yellow combined with compound will leave hazing but even that won't mar the paint.

Did you clay and chemically decontaminate the paint prior to polishing? Are you using V36 or V34?